25 Feb 2013
New Land 2013: Norway’s Polar Heroes and Today’s Challanges, New York
25 Feb 2013 6:00 PM - 6:00 PM Export to Calendar 
Loading Map....
The Explorers Club

46 East 70 St., (between Park Ave. and Madison Ave. ).
New York , - United States

Get Driving Directions

6 pm:  Pre-lecture reception.

7 pm: Lecture.

Cost:$20 to be paid directly to the Explorers Club upon arrival – Advance reservations to nacc@naccusa.org are recommended.

About the Event:
In late March 2013, Norwegian Tobias Thorleifsson and American John Huston will lead an expedition to Canada’s fabled Ellesmere Island, the northernmost landmass in North America. The expedition, titled New Land 2013, will celebrate the accomplishments of Norwegian explorer Otto Sverdrup who originally discovered and mapped much of the area between 1898 and 1902. Thorleifsson and Huston will discuss their upcoming expedition and how Sverdrup and countryman Roald Amundsen went about achieving their monumental successes.

Norwegian Tobias Thorleifsson is an Arctic explorer, acclaimed historian, sailor, environmental education consultant, and one of Norway’s most sought after environmental speakers. He is a veteran of Arctic expeditions in Canada, Greenland, and Russia. He holds a Masters degree in polar history and has appeared in the New York Times, Outside, Aftenposten, VG, and on Good Morning America, NRK, and TV2. Tobias lives in Oslo, Norway with his wife and daughter.

Polar explorer John Huston and his expedition partner are the first Americans to reach the North Pole unsupported. John also has completed major expeditions to the South Pole and on Greenland. He is a speaker, writer, consultant, and guide. He has appeared in Popular Mechanics, Outside, the LA Times, the Chicago Tribune, and on the BBC, History Channel, CNN, and the Today Show. He and his wife live in Evanston, Illinois.
 John’s book on the North Pole expedition, Forward, The First American Unsupported Expedition to the North Pole, won a Ben Franklin Award from the IBPA and is a finalist for a Minnesota Book Award.
For more information visit: forwardendavors.com